Skip to main content

Meet our Board of Directors

Paul Sherlock
Andrew Dunbar
Beverley Wright
Luke Havelberg
Bill LeBlanc

The SABRENet Board. L to R – Paul Sherlock, Dr. Andrew Dunbar, Beverley Wright, Luke Havelberg, Bill Le Blanc,

Paul Sherlock BE, MBA, GAICD (Chair)

Paul is the former Chief Information Officer (CIO) for the University of South Australia where he was responsible for the delivery of a wide range of ICT and Library services across the University which support the key business functions of teaching and learning, research and consultancy and administration. Paul previously held senior IT management roles at the Defence Science and Technology Group and BHP Steel International. Paul is a former President of the Council of Australian University Directors of Information Technology (CAUDIT) Incorporated and the Australian Access Federation (AAF) Incorporated.

Paul has completed a Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical) and an Associate Diploma in Computing at the former South Australian Institute of Technology (now UniSA). He has obtained a Master of Business Administration at the University of Adelaide, a Manager’s Certificate in IT Service Management at the British Computer Society, and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment at the Securities Institute. Paul is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD). Paul is Director and/or Chair of a range of organisations including Australian Access Federation (AAF) Incorporated, Uniting Care Wesley Bowden and St Peters Girls School.

Paul is the Chair of SABRENet Ltd and was first appointed to the Board by the University of South Australia when SABRENet Ltd was formed in September 2005. He became an Independent Director in December 2021.

Dr Andrew Dunbar PhD, BSc, GAICD

Andrew is currently Executive Director, Innovation and Science in the Department for Industry, Innovation and Science. Formerly he was Chief Operating Officer, Office of the South Australian Chief Entrepreneur and Director of the Office of Science, Technology and Research (OSTAR) with the Department. Andrew has more than 17 years’ experience working in the life sciences (biotech and pharma) industry both in Australia and Europe.

Andrew has a PhD in molecular biology/biochemistry from Flinders University, and is an Observer on the Board of the SA Venture Capital Fund, an Advisory Board Member of UniSA’s Innovation and Collaboration Centre and the Medical Devices Partnering Program at Flinders University and is a Director of the South Australian Space Industry Centre. Previous roles included Board Director and Vice President of Childhood Cancer Association, Director Business and Corporate Development at Mayne Pharma Group and Senior Manager, Corporate Business Development and Acquisitions at Novozymes A/S, based in Denmark. He has also held senior roles at GroPep Ltd, Bionomics Ltd and CSIRO. Andrew is a Graduate Member of the AICD.

Andrew was appointed to the Board by the SA Government in November 2014.

Beverley Wright

Beverley is the Chief Information Officer at the University of Adelaide. Commencing in the role in March 2017. Beverley took on the role at the University of Adelaide to address the need for a strong strategic agenda with a focus on enabling a digital capability and transformation of IT services. Her previous roles include CIO at SA Water (9 years) where she led a significant transformation of IT services and the introduction of digital, loT, analytics and data driven decision-making capabilities, and 17 years with ANZ Bank, based in Melbourne where her primary role was the Global Head of Information Services for the Retail Bank covering a range of roles transforming banking to on line and digital services.

Beverley has worked in the IT industry for over 35 years in a range of sectors including banking, insurance, utilities, Federal and State Government. She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Beverley was appointed to the Board by the University of Adelaide in March 2017.

Luke Havelberg

Luke currently chairs the Innovation Research Universities (IRU) CIO’s Forum and is a member of the AARNet Advisory Committee.

Luke holds a Bachelor of Law and Bachelor of Commerce from Flinders University. Luke commenced as the Chief Information Officer at Flinders University in November 2020. Luke’s career in the higher education sector began in October 2018 where he headed up the Planning and Analytical Services team at Flinders University. Previously Luke’s career experience has been in financial services with his most recent roles being at People’s Choice Credit Union. He has domain leadership experience including cloud platforms, digital banking products, data leveraging strategies, PMOs, customer insights, financial analytics, external acquisitions, implementing new departmental strategies and restructures, treasury, business performance analysis and product management.

Luke was a Board member and Chair of the Finance Committee for St Peter’s Woodlands primary school between June 2012 and December 2018.

Luke was appointed to the Board by Flinders University in November 2020.

Bill Le Blanc

Bill has worked in IT for 38 years in sectors that include Oil & Gas, Healthcare, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications, Banking, Utilities, Transportation and Government. He holds a BSc from Flinders University and an MBA from UniSA.

Bill is Chief Information Officer at the University of South Australia (UniSA). He joined UniSA after 3 years as Head of Technology for ElectraNet where he created a new strategy and service reforms for Information Technology, Operational Technology and Telecommunications services. Previously, Bill was CIO at SA Health where he successfully championed digital transformation in healthcare over his 11 years there, where he was responsible for over 600 IT staff and annual budgets in excess of $200M. Earlier roles include executive appointments with international technology vendors that instilled a strong sense of partnering with stakeholders.

Bill was appointed to the Board by University of South Australia in March 2022.